We manifested last year that in 2021, we shall be where the money resides!
And if you live in New York, you have a chance! New York was added to a list of 15 states with a paid sick leave law. The hourly minimum wage increased in Long Island as well as other parts of the state.
Via News Break
New York was added to a list of 15 states with a paid sick leave law. Employees can use paid sick leave to recover from an illness, care for a sick family member, or find help for themselves or a family member who is a victim of domestic violence, stalking, sexual assault, or human trafficking.
Nearly 1.3 million New Yorkers did not have access to paid sick leave before the new law, according to New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo’s office, and close to 1 in 4 workers have reported being fired or threatened with termination for taking sick time.
Most employees can begin using sick days that the new law allowed them to start accruing on Sept. 30, at a rate of one hour for every 30 hours worked. Any unused sick leave must be carried over to the following year.
Companies with over 100 employees must provide workers with up to 56 hours — equivalent to a full week’s worth — of paid sick leave each year. That lowers to 40 hours — five days — at most companies with five to 99 employees, according to the AP. The article also notes workers at companies with less than four employees and net income less than $1 million must provide up to 40 hours of unpaid sick leave each year.
In Long Island, the hourly minimum wage increased to $14, it was previously $12.50. NYC’s minimum wage continues to stay at $15 (the boost was made in 20180, however, the goal is for the entire state to be at a $15. The state’s labor commissioner will announce the next increase by Oct. 1 at a rate based on the consumer price index.
WHERE THE MONEY RESIDE, WHERE THE MONEY RESIDE! *Hits shmoney dance*